Another flickr issue

8 06 2006

I just compared the Second Life group page on flickr when a) being logged in and b) being logged out and interestingly they differ.

So here is how it looks when being logged in:

And that’s how it looks when being logged out.

So apparently it shows 600 photos less when being logged out compared to when being logged in.
I actually noticed it when looking at my RSS aggregator which does have the RSS feed for the group subscribed so I can see when new photos are showing up. I was wondering why mine do not as I just recently did add them. So a bit of investigation and I come up with that difference in behavior also on the group page itself.

So is this now related to NIPSA?
As I am NIPSAd it might be NIPSA-related but must not be. I will ask the flickr folks about that. It might be a bug though as the NIPSA related part in the community guidelines say that NIPSA photos will still be visible in groups.

Whatever it is it adds to my actual annoyances with flickr and I wonder for what it actually still makes sense as many photos are missing even inside groups. And it’s not so much about my photos but all the photos of other people I will not get to see that way.

Technorati Tags: , , , , , ,


Actions

Information

3 responses

14 06 2006
14 06 2006
Tao’s Thoughts » Wired reports about the flickr issue

[…] Recently I got interviewed by Wired about the flickr issue (blogged before about it here and here and here) and so did some other people. Now the article is online. Cool, that we finally have a more in-depth reply of somebody from flickr. Just some thoughts on that: […]

16 07 2006
Tao’s Thoughts on Second Life » when There.com users encounter the flickr NIPSA rules..

[…] So I just stumbled upon this thread on flickr central. It is again the issue about accounts being marked as NIPSA when they contain photographs from virtual worlds such as Second Life and There (I reported it back then here, here and here and Wired did as well). This time it’s a There user who is complaining and fighting the forum (you in Second Life know how forums are, don’t you?). […]

Leave a Reply

